Thinking about Denominations

Last night.  Final Alpha session of this season.  Topic: What About the Church?   Nicky touched on the issue of denominations, which always get the wheels turning, agonizingly slow, in my wee brain.
 
This pretty much sums it up for me:
 

A tourist came upon another tourist in the middle of the Golden Gate Bridge. They both were enjoying the view – just watching the sunset.

One looked at the other one and said, “What an awesome God.”  Guy number one turned to him and said, “You a Christian?” The second guy said, “Yes, I am a Christian.”  Guy number one said, “So am I,” and they shook hands.  

Guy number one said, “Are you a liberal or a fundamental Christian?” Guy number two said, “I am a fundamental Christian.” Guy number one said, “So am I” and they smiled and nodded to each other.  

Guy number one said, “Are you a covenant or dispensational, fundamental Christian?” The second guy said, “I am a dispensational, fundamental Christian.” The first guy said, “So am I,” and they slapped one another on the back.  

Guy number one said, “Are you an early Acts, mid-Acts or late Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian?” Guy number two said “I am a mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian.” Guy number one said, “So am I,” and they agreed to exchange Christmas cards each year.  

Guy number one said, “Are you an Acts 9 or 13, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian”? Guy number two said, “I am an Acts 9, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian.” Guy number one said, “So am I,” and they hugged one another right there on the bridge.  

Guy number one said, “Are you a pre-trib, or post trib, Acts 9, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian”? Guy number two said, “I am a pre-trib, Acts 9, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian.” Guy number one said, “So am I,” and they decided to exchange kids for the summer. 

Guy number one said, “Are you a 12 in or 12 out, pre-trib, Acts 9, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian?” Guy number two said, “I am a 12 in, pre-trib, Acts 9, mid-Acts, dispensational, fundamental Christian.”
Guy number one said, “You heretic”, and then pushed him off the bridge.  
 
 Ridiculous, no?
One thought on “Thinking about Denominations

  1. farrah says:

    This is awesome!

Leave a Reply

