The Decemberists

I went with Shannon, together with her friends April and Scott, to see The Decemberists last Tuesday, and I have to say, I like the idea of my first exposure to their new album being a live performance. They spoil me, because for their first set (yep, they played TWO sets), they played The Hazards of Love from start to finish in its entirety.

Took me until approximately 2/3 through the set before I realized that Colin was playing two different characters, but then, I never claimed to be smarter than your average bear.

They were terrific, and I feel like we had the best seats in the house, particularly during their dramatic reenactment of Olaf the Pretty Good of Norway discovering Canada in his quest to win the hand of the fair princess.


(Here, Olaf the Pretty Good discovers Canada)

Speaking of pretty good, the openers were. Pretty good, that is. Check ’em out.

Leave a Reply

