Tithing

There’s a haunting line from the movie “Chariots of Fire.” It’s spoken by Ian Charleson, who plays a deeply religious sprinter in the 1924 Olympics. He says: “When I run, I feel His pleasure.”

And as I gave away money, I think I might have felt God’s pleasure. Which is odd. Because I’m agnostic. I don’t know if there’s a God or not, but still I felt some higher sense of purpose. It was like a cozy ember that started at the back of my neck and slowly spread its warmth through my skull. I felt like I was doing something I should have done all my life.

Cool article by A.J. Jacobs on giving.

One thought on “Tithing

  1. Margaret Hebron says:

    Be careful what you quote. Innocent readers may, for a moment, think you’ve become an agnostic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

