I have awesome friends (or, how I ended up with TWO Jeans Day buttons)

I’ve hurt my knee. Well, maybe it’s more accurate to say I’ve hurt my knee again. Old football injury*.

Anyway, my knee needs some work and physio is expensive. I know, I know, first world problems, but there’s a point to this story and I’m getting there. I’m budgeting like crazy to make it work because I’m rather fond of my knee, despite how sassy it can be.

So a few days ago, it was Jeans Day, in support of BC Children’s Hospital Foundation, and many of my friends and co-workers participate annually.

A colleague asked me if I’d be wearing my jeans and I kind of laughed and said I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to afford it this year (I’m looking at YOU, knee). Later, I ended up having a similar conversation with a friend as we were firming up plans for the evening.

Well, wouldn’t you know, my friend showed up at my place a few hours later with a hot pink button! SCORE. What a sweetheart.

Flash forward to the next morning and I arrived at work to find ANOTHER hot pink Jeans Day button waiting for me! This one was a gift from my lovely colleague.

Now, at the end of the day, I probably would have found the $5 to buy a button–and I’m doing the ChildRun in June so I promise I haven’t completely forgotten about the incredible work that goes on at BC Children’s Hospital and Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children. But these were ‘wow’ moments for me. How blessed am I to have these women–and so many other fab folks–in my life? Answer: very.

For some reason, lately I’ve been in a period of reflecting on my relationships, and I often just sit back and say to myself, ‘wow, I’ve got some pretty amazing people in my corner!’ And now I’ve got the buttons to prove it!

Sidebar: I know that Jeans Day is supposed to be about the kids, but see, I’ve managed to make this about me, which is rather clever, don’t you think?

*Just kidding. It was from all the cheerleading**.

**That one’s actually true.

One thought on “I have awesome friends (or, how I ended up with TWO Jeans Day buttons)

  1. Zahida says:

    you’re cute and hilarious! Glad to see you’re back to blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

